Welcome to the Coast

renatov says:

I live in a rented accomodation in West Vancouver and work in Horseshoe Bay. Right now I can’t afford to buy any property in the North Shore, but in theory I could do it in Squamish or Sunshine Coast. People from Sunshine Coast seems terrified that someone like me might move into their unspoiled community when they complain about ” urban growth”, if a fixed link is built.

Why so much resistance against honest workers like me moving to your city? For me being able to keep my job in Horseshoe Bay, and not rely on a ferry schedule would be wonderful, I ve been to Gibsons, Sechelt and I loved it, but I still have some friends in Vancouver that I’d like to visit, and sometimes I do some odd jobs that require being called short notice.

If I could, I would stay in the mainland as a happy homeowner, but I can’t (because I don’t have 1.000.000 in my account). So I insist that it is very selfish from some residents to refuse newcomers who haven’t done anything wrong and are not bringing any bad habits that might destroy the local social fabric.

All I want is to be your happy neighbour, but in order to make my dream of owning a house in the region feasible, the province must get this bridge done.

There will be no chaos after the bridge is complete. After the Sea to Sky improvements, the cities of Squamish, Pemberton and Whistler received new residents, but there was no “gold rush” or anything like that. There was and is some moderate and sustainable growth.

In the Sunshine Coast, you might receive some hundreds of newcomers per year, but nothing that will disrupt your lifestyle.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome to the Coast

  1. Sandy says:

    >So I insist that it is very selfish from some residents to refuse newcomers who haven’t done
    >anything wrong and are not bringing any bad habits that might destroy the local social fabric.
    That is not what is happening here. Please move to the Coast and enjoy our lifestyle. As you become more vested in the community feel free to influence and change it. You however want to change the community before you even get here and you want somebody else to pay for it. That is selfish.

    Here is what I hear you say renatov:

    I want to live in West Vancouver. I can’t afford to live in West Vancouver. As a compromise, I will move to Sunshine Coast and commute in exchange for lower priced real-estate. But I would want tax payers to spend billions of dollars to build a bridge to make my commute easier. Don’t worry, it won’t change your community because only select number of hard-working people will use this bridge. And the economic fundamentals that are forcing me to move out of Vancouver will not repeat themselves on the Coast.

    > but in order to make my dream of owning a house in the region feasible, the province must get this bridge done.
    You want others to subsidize your dream? Isn’t that selfish?

    I know hard working people who LIVE and WORK on the Coast. Salaries on the Coast are lower than in Vancouver. They can’t afford to purchase a house in the community they live in. A bridge would increase real-estate prices on the Coast and destroy their dreams.

Leave a Reply

